Michigan Townships Association

Deater elected 2022 president of Michigan Townships Association

Grant Township (St. Clair Co.) Supervisor Bill Deater has been elected 2022 president of the Michigan Townships Association (MTA). Serving more than 99% of Michigan’s 1,240 townships—which includes more than 6,500 elected leaders plus tens of thousands of additional township appointed officials, staff and volunteers—MTA is the largest municipal association in the state, and one of the largest in the nation.

Deater, who has been township supervisor since 2004, first joined the MTA Board of Directors in 2011. He served as director of MTA District 18, which encompasses Sanilac and St. Clair Counties, and is a past president of the St. Clair County MTA Chapter.

“It is my privilege to lead the organization that serves townships and represents township residents statewide,” Deater said. “It is a rare opportunity to be part of an organization like MTA, which strives to implement positive, lasting change for Michigan residents. To be an advocate for my community, the Association and all Michigan townships is an honor.”

In addition to serving as township supervisor, Deater is a past officer and former member of the Grant Township Fire Department, serving the department for 44 years. Previously, he also served as chair of the Grant Township Planning Commission, chair of the St. Clair County Road and Bridges Board and past president of the St. Clair County Supervisors Board. He’s currently a member of the Emergency Management and Homeland Security Board of St. Clair County, and he served for many years on the St. Clair County Central Dispatch Board.

He and his wife, Susannah, live on their family farm in Jeddo.