Michigan Townships Association

Grant Township treasurer appointed to Michigan Townships Association Board of Directors

Misty Filsinger, Grant Township (Keweenaw Co.) treasurer, has been appointed to serve on the Michigan Townships Association Board of Directors, as District 1 director, which encompasses Gogebic, Houghton, Keweenaw and Ontonagon Counties. Serving Michigan’s 1,240 townships, MTA is the largest municipal association in the state and one of the largest in the nation. Filsinger was sworn in to her position on the MTA Board position at MTA’s 2024 Annual Educational Conference & Expo, held in April at the Grand Traverse Resort in Acme Township.

Filsinger has been Grant Township treasurer for six years, and is dedicated to serving her community, region—and now all of Michigan’s townships in her new leadership role on the statewide organization.

“I am proud to be part of the MTA team that advocates for and assists townships in moving their community and Michigan forward,” Filsinger said. “I take township democracy and leadership very seriously and am committed to our township in moving us forward, making positive strides daily. I am passionate about strong public policy both in my community and across the state, and know that it is essential for a vibrant communities and a vibrant state.”


The Michigan Townships Association advances local democracy by fostering township leadership and public policy essential for a strong and vibrant Michigan.