Michigan Townships Association

Delta Charter Township honored as ‘Township of Excellence’ for third time

Delta Charter Township (Eaton Co.) has been recognized for an incredible third time as a “Township of Excellence” by the Michigan Townships Association (MTA). The intensive, comprehensive program, administered by the Association, evaluates township governance, administration and programs to ensure adherence to exceptional practices in boardsmanship and in serving the community.

Township leaders were presented with the award on April 23 before hundreds of their peers at the MTA Annual Educational Conference &Expo at the Grand Traverse Resort in Acme Township (Grand Traverse Co.). It is the second township in the state to receive the recognition for three successive township terms of office.

The township first achieved “Township of Excellence” status in 2015, and received the honor for a second time in 2020. Townships receive this designation after meeting a series of demanding, high-level criteria, as defined by the Association and its members. Delta Charter Township’s recognition is for its latest achievement in the 2020-2024 township board term. Board members include Supervisor Kenneth Fletcher, Clerk Mary Clark, Treasurer Dennis Fedewa, and Trustees Elizabeth Bowen, Fonda Brewer, Andrea Cascarilla and Karen Mojica. The township is also served by Manager Brian Reed.

Every member of the township plays a role in ensuring exceptional administration, services and programs—and they continuously strive toward a goal of continued community excellence. “We take great pride in being able to say that we are a ‘Township of Excellence,’ ” Fletcher said. “Going through the process to apply for this recognition makes us be the best that we can possibly be and helps to ensure that we are focusing on local government best practices. That allows us to give that assurance to our residents that they are served by a professionally run community, and that we are doing the very best we can to serve them in the best possible way.”

MTA defines a “Township of Excellence” as a strong, vibrant community governed by a township board that adheres to best practices to deliver quality programs and services to accomplish community-driven goals. Delta Charter Township board members and staff have demonstrated a willingness to distinguish the townshipthrough consistently meeting the highest standards ofpolicy-driven governance; the board’s commitment to making decisions that are knowledge-based; practicing accountable delegation of responsibilities and evaluation of results; assurances of responsive constituent service; adherence to strong fiscal management; and delivering high-quality township services.

“We commend Delta Charter Township for achieving this high honor for a remarkable third time,” said MTA Executive Director Neil Sheridan. “The entire township team—including the board, its manager, appointed officials, employees and volunteers—works continuously and consistently to provide exemplary programs, services and quality of life to their community and residents. This is a rigorous, challenging recognition to attain, and demonstrates Delta Charter Township’s enduring commitment to excellence on behalf of their residents.”


  The Michigan Townships Association advances local democracy by fostering township leadership and public policy essential for a strong and vibrant Michigan.

Photo by David Trumpie, Trumpie Photography, Grand Ledge.