Michigan Townships Association

MTA elects new executive committee

Connie Cargill, treasurer of Golden Township (Oceana Co.), has been elected 2024 president of the Michigan Townships Association (MTA). Cargill was elected president of the largest municipal association in Michigan at MTA’s Annual Educational Conference & Expo, held April 22-25 at the Grand Traverse Resort in Acme Township.

Cargill, who has served as township treasurer since 1995, was first elected to the MTA Board of Directors in 2012. She previously served as township deputy treasurer and is retired from the Oceana County Drain Office. She is currently a member of the Oceana County Land Bank Authority Board, and treasurer of the Oceana County MTA Chapter. Cargill also serves on the Silver Lake and Lake Holiday Improvement Boards, and as a board member of the Oceana Agricultural Society.

Joining Cargill on the MTA Executive Committee are: Harold Koviak, Burt Township (Cheboygan Co.) supervisor, as first vice president; Kevin Beeson, Pine River Township (Gratiot Co.) supervisor, as second vice president; Malinda Cole-Crocker, Buchanan Charter Township (Berrien Co.) supervisor, as treasurer; Marvin Radtke, Jr., Green Lake Township (Grand Traverse Co.) supervisor, as secretary; Pauline Bennett, Addison Township (Oakland Co.) clerk, as immediate past president; and Glenn Rowley, Bangor Charter Township (Bay Co.) supervisor, as member-at-large.

The MTA Executive Committee, along with the entire MTA Board of Directors, meets numerous times throughout the year, and adopts strategic policies that guide the Association’s operations to best serve Michigan’s 1,240 townships.


The Michigan Townships Association advances local democracy by fostering township leadership and public policy essential for a strong and vibrant Michigan.