Michigan Townships Association

Michigan Townships Association announces new Executive Committee

Bill Deater, supervisor of Grant Township (St. Clair Co.), has been elected 2022 president of the Michigan Townships Association (MTA). Deater was elected president of the largest municipal association in Michigan at MTA’s Annual Educational Conference & Expo, held this week at the Lansing Center.

Deater has served his residents as township supervisor since 2004 and has served on the MTA Board of Directors since 2011. He is a former officer and retired member of the Grant Township Fire Department, with 44 years of service to the department, and also served as chair of the Grant Township Planning Commission. He is a past chair and current member of the St. Clair County Emergency Management and Homeland Security Board, and a past president and current member of the St. Clair County Road & Bridge Advisory Committee. Deater is a former vice president of Ironworkers Local 426, and past master of Croswell Masonic Lodge 469.

Joining Deater on the MTA Executive Committee are: Pauline Bennett, Addison Township (Oakland Co.) clerk, as first vice president; Connie Cargill, Golden Township (Oceana Co.) treasurer, as second vice president; Harold Koviak, Burt Township (Cheboygan Co.) supervisor, as treasurer; Kevin Beeson, Pine River Township (Gratiot Co.) supervisor as secretary; Peter Kleiman, Harris Township (Menominee Co.) supervisor, as immediate past president; and Malinda Cole-Crocker, Buchanan Township (Berrien Co.) supervisor, as member-at-large.

The MTA Executive Committee, along with the entire MTA Board of Directors, meets numerous times throughout the year, and adopts strategic policies that guide the Association’s operations to best serve Michigan’s 1,240 townships.