Michigan Townships Association

Boon Township supervisor elected to Michigan Townships Association Board of Directors

Matthew Beattie, Boon Township (Wexford Co.) supervisor, has been elected to the Michigan Townships Association Board of Directors, serving as director of MTA 9 District, which encompasses Clare, Missaukee, Oscoda and Wexford Counties. Beattie was elected to the position by his township peers at the Association’s Annual Conference in April.

Beattie, who was first elected supervisor in 2020, says that helping residents solve issues has been a rewarding part of his service to his township—which he looks forward to broadening in his new role helping to lead the state’s largest municipal organization.

“I would like to expand the networking abilities not only among neighboring townships, but also neighboring counties to reach common goals,” he said of his goals serving on the MTA Board, adding that he “would also like to pursue education to be able to use to provide increased growth, safety and well-being to the residents in my township.”