Michigan Townships Association

James Township treasurer re-elected to MTA Board of Directors

James Township (Saginaw Co.) Treasurer Joanne Boehler will continue to represent District 17, which encompasses Genesee, Saginaw and Shiawassee Counties, on the Michigan Townships Association (MTA) Board of Directors. Boehler was re-elected to the position by her township peers at a caucus election held during the Association’s Annual Educational Conference & Expo, April 25-28 in Lansing. She was first elected to the MTA Board in 2005.
Boehler was elected township treasurer in 1996, after serving as deputy treasurer for 20 years. She is a member and co-founder of the Saginaw Area Local Treasurers Association.

Boehler’s role in helping residents is among the most satisfying parts of serving as a local official, she said. “It’s rewarding when someone comes into our offices and I can really help, and they are appreciative of what I’ve done for them—large or small,” she said.

Boehler is passionate about the township she has served for nearly four decades—and about the government closest to the people, township government. “I love local government,” she said. “I would like more people to understand local government and what an asset it is.”